A portrait of fatigue

All this running and physical activity is getting to me, yo.

Isn’t it weird how one day can change things?  After my awesome run on Thursday night, I slogged through a horrible 6-miler on Friday.  Saturday afternoon, I tried again: 5 and change, a little better, but still rather sluggish.

The culprit?  I’m thinking it’s simply the increase in mileage over the last couple of weeks, along with the re-introduction of strength training and yoga.  And tempo runs.  And I could probably use a new pair of shoes, too – current primary pair is going on 400 miles.  My feet were aching a bit today.

I’ve been planning to do a 5K tomorrow afternoon, so I’m hoping my legs feel a little lighter by then.

Seriously.

I’m off to bed.  At 11:15 on a Saturday night.  I’m going to pretend it’s a deliberate attempt to revive my tired legs, and not simply the fact that I’m old and boring.  G’night!

16 responses to “A portrait of fatigue

  1. Don’t feel too bad. 8:52 PM AKST and I’m already thinking about bed.
    We’ll make great grandmas some day. The sluggish days mess me up a bit too, but it’ll come back around.
    That cat looks like it knows how to LIVE.

  2. Get it girl. I just drank 5 glasses of wine, spring rolls and a (big) bag of chips. I love san francisco. I have a flight at 8 am . I had by work out clothes laid out, but I’m pretty sure tomorrow is going to be a very rough morning.

  3. Don’t feel too bad, I was in bed by 10:00 on Saturday night. Too cool 🙂

  4. Hi I just found your blog! I’m an old grandma that’s in bed early too 🙂

  5. “Sounds far.” … hahaha. Seriously. It sounds far to me this weekend too. What’s up with that?

  6. Looks like my kitties. They give me the “why are you getting up so early to go to the gym?” look and then snuggle & purr so it’s extra hard to get out of bed.

  7. Aww…your cat looks just like our Fred. And Fred spends all his time sleeping too!

    Don’t feel bad, I went to bed before 10pm on Saturday night too – and slept in until about 9 this morning. I’m still sitting around and talking myself into my 10miler. Good luck on your possible 5k! 🙂

  8. um, 11:15 is later than i’ve stayed up in weeks. you win.

  9. I was in bed by 10:45.

  10. i was asleep waaaaaaaaaaaaay earlier than that. like several hours earlier. let’s check into the old folks home together. mmmmmmmmmmmmmkay?

  11. umm, Jacqui and I were also in our beds by ~11:30pm last night. We weren’t being lame…we were resting up for our 5k’s and long runs 🙂 Haha, also I love your cat.

Leave a Reply

