Patience

I lack it.

And stupid little status bars like this one?  They are pointless.

Hey, iTunes.  Your little green bar loses all credibility when I must sit there and watch it fill and re-fill itself repeatedly.

Let’s be honest: that thing is just for show. It has nothing to do with the progress of the little installation gnomes inside my computer.  And yet…every time it gets full, I get a little surge of hope.  Only to be crushed when it starts all over again.

Setting up my new iPhone yesterday very nearly killed me.  The stress!

Somehow it took all afternoon to get  iTunes upgraded and re-installed.  I rebooted my computer.  I plugged the smug little gadget in, and:

YGBFKM.

Although I have to say that the process appears to have been worthwhile.  I cannot tear myself away from that shiny little block of wonder.  So that’s why I am keeping this brief tonight.  Because I have really important things to do.  Like flinging cartoon birds at cartoon pigs.

Stress?  What stress??

15 responses to “Patience

  1. Haha, I have to say, I love that it says “This may take some time”. It should also say “why don’t you curl up and read your Kindle…I mean iPad.”

  2. I have iPhone envy in spite of the ridiculously long set-up time.

  3. I’m sure it will be worth it.. and I’m sure I’ll enjoy my first I-phone when I buy it in 2015.

  4. I just got an iphone yesterday! Already obsessed with it…

  5. Technology can be so frustrating for me. Guess I’m glad I’m not the only one… However, I don’t ever remember seeing that “waiting for activation” screen. I think I may have made them do that for me at the store.

    Sounds like you’re still happy with your new gadget though! I highly suggest you get a good case for it if you haven’t already, as it’s very sad to crack the screen on an iPhone. Even with a good case, I’ve managed to do that once 😦

  6. As stated before, I LOVE my iPhone. Seriously. I cuddle with it at night.

  7. I am three days into my new iPhone after 5 years with a work-supplied Palm Treo (can I get a round of applause for putting up with that beast for so long). Angry Birds is total crack.

  8. I can’t wait to get an iPhone this summer!

  9. I actually needed to take a break from angry birds due to the stress it was causing. You’ll see.

  10. I played Angry Birds for the first time this weekend. So much fun but so addictive!

  11. And, does your Garmin satellite finder jump around like the iTunes one? Nothing worse than being ready to go and having to wait for that black line to complete!

  12. i am so jealous of your iphone!! have you downloaded the strands app yet?

  13. i got an iphone last summer and it never took that long for me to set up! or at least the amazingness post-set up made me forget all about the pain of setting it up. you shall be there soon 🙂

  14. “Setting up my new iPhone yesterday very nearly killed me. The stress!”

    #whitegirlproblemoftheweek

    (Seriously though, technology is a bitch. I feel your frustration!!)

Leave a Reply

