Beer, steak, beer

Um, I didn’t run today.

Apparently, I can talk shit about running while on vacation just as well as I can talk shit about my skiing skills.  Yeah.

But you know what I did do?  I skied hard for seven hours and then proceed to eat and drink my face off.

It started with a Ska Brewing Company Buster Nut Brown Ale (Durango):

Which was kind of funny because I totally used to think I was a ska kid when I was in like ninth grade.  I’ll have to do a post about that one sometime.

Anyway…the beer itself was not as memorable as the fun cartoon label.  It was dark brown and slightly hoppy and pleasant enough but nothing special.

Followed by meat.

It’s a crappy picture of a delicious steak: grass-fed sirloin from the New Sheridan in downtown Telluride.  Puff pastry and fresh rosemary on top.  I devoured all twelve ounces of it.

And then more beer:

Scotch Ale, that is.  90 Schilling Scotch from Odell Brewing Co in Fort Collins.  I actually wasn’t blown away by this one either: it was enjoyable and very smooth, but a little watery.  Definitely no match for a steak.

But overall it was a highly enjoyable evening of eating and drinking.  Now, I am resting my weary legs by the fire, procrastinating packing, and plotting distractions for tomorrow’s travel home.

Unless I can figure out a way to stay here permanently in the next twelve hours, I’m leaving my beloved mountains for the boring green hills of the East Coast an 10 AM tomorrow.  Suggestions welcome.

 

11 responses to “Beer, steak, beer

  1. Looks like a great way to spend the last day of vacation! You can run when you get home, enjoy the mountains while you’re there!

  2. I’m going to bet that running on a ski vacation can be challenging, especially if there is a lot of snow on the ground. Glad you had a great trip!

  3. Ahh – steak and beer. Perfect combo! No ideas on avoiding your trip home, but you seem to move often enough that maybe your next relocation can be to the mountains? 😀

  4. Talking shit is what all the popular kids are doing.

    Haven’t had a chance to tell you how jealous I am. My cousins lived in Ft. Collins when I was a kid so we spent many a winter skiiing in Colorado. I miss it! Sniffle, sniffle. (Yes, I was a privileged white kid. WOO?)

  5. I’ve recently started seeing the odell brand crop up in my local grocery store. Love the graphic appeal of the labels…. almost makes me want to try it based on that alone (hello effective marketing). Have you tried anything else?

  6. Consuming embarrassing amounts of beer and beef after a long day of skiing is one of life’s greatest simple pleasures. I will maintain that until the day I die. I’m jealous of your vacation!

  7. MSB is skiing and drinking beer this week too. I keep reminding myself that at least I don’t have to wear a jacket.
    Puff pastry ON a steak!? Awesome!

  8. The perfect meal: BEER and MEAT.
    SCORE

  9. i say you eat and drink your face off. because i’m way jealous that is what you’re doing. YUM.

  10. I love the southwest. I had elk steak in Durango once, and it was amazing.

  11. Mmmm grass fed steak. ::drool::

Leave a Reply

