Parking lot lessons

Here’s something I learned today.  Platform rubber flip-flops are a bad idea.  And not just from a fashion perspective.

Because those things are dangerous when wet.  It was pouring today and I totally made out with the pavement upon exiting Whole Foods.  Fortunately, no overpriced grocery items were harmed.  My ass is another story.  There’s gonna be a bruise there.  Good thing I’ve got some padding.

Anyway.

I share this little anecdote to distract you from the fact that I haven’t posted in a few days.  Life has been rather unexciting.  Let’s see….

Thursday, I left Telluride for a full day’s journey back to NC.  I had a long layover at O’Hare, during which I proceeded to drink cheap Chardonnay by myself at a Chili’s.  And tweet about it.  Kind of entertaining.  Then my flight was delayed so I went to another bar and drank beer.  I didn’t get home until the wee hours of Friday morning.  The whole thing was exhausting.

Friday, I woke up bright and early, pretended not to be hung over, and penned a long list of productive tasks for the day.  Then I immediately retired to the couch and spent the remainder of the day playing Fruit Ninja on my phone.  I did manage to get a slow 8-mile run in.  Also, exhausting.

Saturday, I spent the day working hard at my latest income supplementation scheme.  (Hey-o!)  This, too, was completely and totally exhausting.

Which brings us to today.  Given the exhausting nature of the last few days, and the fact that it was raining buckets (and thundering and lightning-ing) today, I don’t know how I could have been expected to do my long run.

So, I didn’t.

And I feel kind of bad about that.

But not really.

After all, I’m still in vacation recovery mode.  And it’s supposed to be clear as a stripper’s heel tomorrow, so I’ll get my last 11-12 miler before Shamrock done then.

And that’s what you’ve missed in my life.

Today’s EAT: Tonight’s dinner is simmering at the moment and it smells excellent.  But since I’m blogging early, I’ll have to wait until tomorrow to share it.  (Assuming it tastes as good as it smells.)

Instead, I’ll share a little something that I’ve been meaning to post about for a couple of weeks:

My latest cereal obsession. They’re exactly like crunchberries.  I swear.

They even turn the milk a little bit pink.  If Kashi comes up with a cocoa-flavored version of this, I’m buying stock.

Today’s DRINK: This week’s Sunday afternoon sipping beer is Dogfish Head’s Aprihop IPA.

This is a fruity little glass of fun.  It’s still got a bit of that IPA bitterness to give is some backbone, but the apricot really comes through and makes for a sweet experience.  At 7% ABV, it’s no girly beer, but I could definitely see someone liking this even if they’re not a big beer fan.  It’s like a cross between a Lambic and a real beer.  Delicious.

Today’s RUN: A mere three miles.  I sneaked out during a break in the storm and got back in before it started again.  It was completely forgettable, but better than nothing.

Look back on the week:

M – 3.4 easy (treadmill, Telluride, 30:00, 8:52 pace)
Tu – OFF (ski)
W – OFF (ski)
Th – 4 easy (treadmill, Telluride, 33:49, 8:27 pace)
F – 8.1 easy (1:10:10, 8:39 pace)
Sa – 3 easy w/hubs (~29:00, ~9:40 pace)
Su – 3 miles easy (25:45, 8:36 pace)

21.5 total.  Yeah….that’s way too low.

Today’s QUESTION: Have you ever fallen on your ass in a public place? Sadly, this wasn’t my first time….

28 responses to “Parking lot lessons

  1. Um, I fell on stage at my college graduation. It had rained the day before and the ramp was still slippery. After I got my diploma, I tried to walk down the ramp (in flip flops) and fell on my ass. It was embarrassing, but I will always be known as the one who fell at Graduation 2006.

    • OMG! And since it was a graduation, you know there is ample video footage of the incident floating around out there. If you ever become a celebrity… 🙂

  2. When it comes to safety, platform flips are the devil. I threw away one pair after a huge flop in the middle of Wal Mart (I don’t know if I was more afraid of the fall or being on Peopleofwalmart.com) but I still have one pair left that I wear when it’s dry out and when I know I won’t be drinking.

    I fall all the time, down the stairs at a bar in college, down the main stairs in the student union, in front of a club in South Beach that had a huge line of people waiting and I fell on all fours looking like a whore. Come to think about it, I blame most of my falls on the sauce.

  3. Holy crap, really? Crunchberries? I’m totally going & finding those tomorrow. Also, I immediately thought “and the schnozberries taste like schnozberries!” No idea, so I’m suggesting you just go with it. As for biting it, I’ve totally done it on runs, which causes bystanders to look at you like “really? can’t you put one foot in front of the other without dying?” No, no I can’t.

  4. I hate platform flip flops…partly because I walk like a goon in the one pair that I own – all in the attempt to NOT fall on my keister!

    Hopefully you bought a bag or two of frozen peas to sit on to heal up your bum!

    I’ve had that Dogfish apricot beer before – it is pretty tasty!

  5. I used to wipe out a few times each winter running along the bike path in Boston, in full view of traffic. Probably gave the Massholes something to smile about.

    But seriously, I need to start using the phrase “clear as a stripper’s heel”- is that one of your own creation??

  6. Dogfish is strong! I tried it at last year’s Brewfest.

    I’ve fallen several times in public. I’m kind of a klutz. And slippery flip flops are usually the culprit!

  7. i love that you shamelessly binge drink at chili’s restaurant establishments at airports. this makes you even cooler and redeems the fall-on-ass-in-public… one of them, at least.

    a kashi cereal i haven’t tried?! insanity. must buy soon.

    congrats on the new job! i like that they link your blog. faaaame!

    as for myself, i have certainly tripped down and up stairs several times. when i was a little kid my shoelace got stuck in an escalator at a mall in the catskills. that was a near-death experience in which a stranger came to my rescue. not too embarrassing, but kind of pathetic, like falling on the buttocks.

    i find myself needing to respond to like seven things in your posts. hmm. when are you coming to visit NYC again?!

  8. Platform flipflops sound deadly — only a step down from heels, which I can hardly handle under the best of circumstances. Cap’n Crunch was one of my favorite cereals when I was little… I would eat so much of it that it would start ripping the lining out of my mouth. WORTH IT.

  9. Hey! Congratulations on your job! And I have totally bitten it in platform flipflops, the used-to-be-trendy J. Crew ones that ripped the shit out of the top of your feet which caused all the high school girls to cover their tootsies in band-aids (and yet we all wore them. Oh, peer pressure). But, yeah…I’ve fallen in public. Most recently on the goddamn ice.

    • That is exactly what these are. J Crew from like seven years ago. I’m not sure why I still own them. Maybe it’s time to say goodbye.

  10. Ok, still jealous about your vacation. Are we done hearing about it? 🙂

    My most recent fall involved flip-flops too. Last summer I was getting off a flight and slid as I walking down a wet jet-bridge ramp, baby in arms. Both my feet come straight on in front of me and I landed flat on my back, almost like a cartoon. Luckily I had a big ole diaper on my back to break the fall. Embarrassing part was the pilot saw what happened and came out of the place to check on. He knew my husband and relayed the story to him before I even had the chance.

  11. Woo Hoo; you are listed as staff at the Athlete’s Foot – Fabulous! I also think it’s super fun that they link your blog.

    Yes – I fall a lot. I’m horribly uncoordinated, but at least running is safer for me than contact sports 😀 Hope the bruise isn’t too serious!

  12. I’ve learned not to wear the Old Navy flip in the rain. Zero traction. Far too many close calls.

  13. yeahhhh…i have a pair of platform flipflops that i wipe out in every summer. the price we pay for beauty. well, height, anyway.

  14. So let me get this straight…there is a semi-healthy version of Cap’n Crunch Crunchberries?!? Sold.

    I live in the frozen tundra. People slipping and falling while walking to class in college was a daily (hilarious) occurance. I like to think running on and in snow and ice my whole life has helped me have almost ninja like skills at avoiding falls. The slippery flip flops are a bitch though.

  15. I’ve fallen when I was running… and on ice. It’s not fun when it happens to you, but like Bree said- watching someone wipe out while riding a bike when it’s really icy is kind of funny. Take. the. bus.

  16. I haven’t seen that Kashi cereal yet! Looks so snackable.
    I haven’t fallen publicly in awhile. Sadly, most of my falls are while running.

  17. No, I have never fallen in a public place, but I have tripped and that’s quite embarrassing so I can only imagine falling on my ass. Ouch! Good job saving the groceries. 🙂

    Mmmm I love Kashi. Is that cereal organic?

  18. Flip flops are SO slippery when wet. I don’t understand either, aren’t they meant for that kind of weather??? Erm, probably not 🙂

    That cereal looks delicious. I love Kashi cranberry cereals!!

  19. i wish you had a video of it 😉

    i think that flip flop platforms are just dangerous in general…although i will admit to owning a pair back in the day. but i mostly fall when running. aka in sneakers.

  20. I bit the cement in the Armory pretty hard last week. A high schooler handed me a napkin to wipe the blood from my chin. No shame, no shame.

    I love that you drank wine at Chili’s in the airport 🙂 Have you ever tried their crispy chicken tenders? Amazingly delicious. Sometimes chain food is a win, sometimes.

  21. There’s a big bike race/festival in downtown Athens, GA every Spring that is yet another excuse for college students to get falling down drunk, literally. Both years I attended I bit it. My junior year we were headed to the next bar and I swear I was walking down hill, totally fell and scraped my knee. Then Senior year I wiped out while double fisting hot dog. Ketchup in the hair and everything. Luckily I was too drunk to care how stupid I probably looked 🙂

Leave a Reply

