Hard in da paint

First off, I’d like to thank the landscaping guys who were working the area next to the track for blasting Waka Flocka Flame when I arrived for my speed session today.  Because my intervals are totally fueled by f-bombs.  How did they know?

Seriously.

I jogged up to the Big University Which Shall Not Be Named (because, you know, that whole trespassing thing) with 800s on my mind today.  Six of them.  At 5K pace.

Or rather: goal 5K pace.  Lately, I’ve been hanging out right around 7:00 when racing 5Ks.  Which is a little ridiculous considering that I’m cruising through longer tempo runs at 7:10-7:20 no problem.  Those 5K splits need to go on a little diet.

So I set my sights on 3:20-3:25 per 800M.  6:40 to 6:50 mile pace.  Very attainable, and about what I was doing at my peak last summer.  200M recovery, mostly because that would encourage continuous looping of the track while allowing me to alternate starting points.

First 800: 3:19.  Hmm.  That felt easy.  I picked off two more: 3:16, 3:16.  And suddenly I was halfway done.

And then, I started taking some liberties with that jog-between.

For me, enforcing recovery times is probably the single hardest thing about solo speedwork.  I’m pretty good about jumping right in to my recovery shuffle as soon as I finish, but as I approach the line for the next one, I start making feeble excuses.

  • My shoelace is too loose/tight.  Must retie.
  • My boob is chafing.  Must adjust.
  • My keys feel like they’re falling out of my pocket.  Must secure.
  • My…my…uh, I just want a few more seconds.

Seriously, I’m like a stubborn baby bird that has to be pushed out of the comfy recovery nest every single time around.

(Which is why I miss my good old team workouts so much.  Because there was no time to think about how short and crappy that recovery felt.  The group was leaving, and you just jumped in and went for it.)

Anyway.  I got through it tonight.  It’s only three minutes, I told myself.  You can withstand discomfort for three effing minutes.  Just effing go.

Last three repeats: 3:16, 3:14, 3:12.  Well.  That’s faster than 6:40 pace.

Hard. In da M-EFFING paint.

Running back home, I reflected on the workout and was really quite pleased.  It was a tough workout with short recovery and I ran it faster than I’d intended to.  And was only a little bit wiped out at the end.  And that was mentally, more than physically.

It usually pays to give yourself that nudge out of the nest.  Even if it means using some unsavory language as you tumble down.

Today’s EAT: A rematch of sorts.

Last time around, it beat me.  But this time, I brought frying oil.

I don’t know what it is about this stuff, but I’m determined to master it.  Maybe because it’s such a cheap source of protein and I really do enjoy it – more than, say, a boring chicken breast – when it’s cooked well?

With rice, edamame and teriyaki sauce, this was pretty tasty.  Standard batter of whipped egg whites and corn starch.  Pan fried to golden brown in a tablespoon or so of Canola oil before baking it (elevated on a rack, to keep the soggies away) to finish it off.

Fluffy, fried batter for the tofu win.

Today’s DRINK: In the big-girl bottle: Rogue Juniper Pale Ale.

It was alright!  Maybe I’m getting a little too accustomed to high-ABV IPAs, because this pale came across rather mellow tonight.  It had a light and delicate honey flavor – not at all what I expected when I saw “juniper.”  Much smoother and sweeter than some other notable pale ales, like Sierra.  I liked it, overall…it just wasn’t what I’d expected.

Today’s RUN: Total, with warm up and cool down, 8.3 miles.

Today’s QUESTION: Do you ever feel like you have to nudge yourself out of the nest? Even though I love running and racing, I have to admit that it can sometimes be a battle to lace up my shoes and put myself out there when I embark on a hard workout or race.  There’s always something to fear: pain, lack of speed, failure to finish as planned.  It’s always a bit of a head game!

23 responses to “Hard in da paint

  1. you are ON FIRE with the paint illustrations the last two days, girl. and a great workout, 200s recovery make 5K pace very tough!

    I totally cheated a little bit on my workout tonight because I was alone. I made the last 2 400s into 200s (gasp!), because I wasn’t quite hitting my splits, but really I should have kicked my own little butt out of the nest. next time.

  2. I don’t do speedwork, so no. I know, I know I *should*. I will. When I begin marathon training. Yeah, then.

    And wow, tofu and edamame? That’s a lot of soy…not that it’s bad or anything, I just know I would not be pleasant company with so much soy in the old tummy. And I practically subsist on the stuff.

    • Yeah, I guess it was a lot of soy! I don’t tend to have issues win it so I think I’ll be ok.*

      *statement that will probably haunt me at 3 AM.

  3. Rogue!! Are you homesick?
    Don’t you hate it when there seems to be a million things wrong with a run…shoes too tight, underwear crawling…lead legs…. Ugh! I can get complacent. It’s easy to just “go with the flow.” working out with someone else can remind me to step it up.

    • Whenever I have a Rogue beer, I think of the loooong drive that I used to do a couple of times a year, going between home in Tacoma and college in SoCal. That stretch of Southern Oregon with the Rogue River always went on forever!

  4. Nice job at the track! Yes, I definitely have to nudge myself out of the nest. I think sometimes I hold back at speed sessions because I’m afraid of overdoing it, injury, pain – whatever it might be. Even though my track is buried in snow, I’ve gotten a bit better about cranking the pace on the treadmill and holding on for dear life lately 🙂

  5. lifeisbeachykeen

    I’m still sitting in the damn nest. No speed sessions for me, I’m a wimp, plus I have no clue what I’m doing. I keep telling myself after my half in 11 days I’ll google speed work outs, become friends with runnersworld.com , and stalk various blogs to find out WTF I should be doing.

  6. That’s part of the reason I actually like doing short intervals on the treadmill because you just set the thing at your goal pace and hold on for dear life. There’s no, “I’ve got to slow down a little bit for this turn” or “There might be ice there, I’d better back off a tiny bit.” And I’m motivated to start the next interval again because people are more inclined to ask you how much time you have left if you are easy jogging rather than panting and spraying sweat everywhere.

    • “People are more inclined to ask you how much time you have left if you are easy jogging rather than panting and spraying sweat everywhere.”

      LOL. That’s definitely a perk of hauling ass!

  7. That is an awesome job on the track – extra slacking on the recoveries or not! You went out and went faster than planned, kudos to you.

    Sometimes I need to get in a mental battle with myself and just give myself a good talking to – it usually helps!

  8. Those splits make my head spin. You’re fast!

    I get inspired by your speed workouts, yet cannot get myself to do the same. All my workouts are basically the same speed, the only thing that changes is the terrain and distance. I deem anything over 8:00/mi pace too slow, and running faster than 7:30/mi scares me. I really need to get out of that comfort zone.

  9. I’m still in the nest too! The only way to get faster is to run faster but I just can’t get with it. I need to come down to your house and you can whip my butt around that track!

  10. Nudging myself out of the nest is basically an every day thing. Being a beginning runner sucks haha…. hope it gets easier.

  11. Nice track workout. I always have to nudge myself. It’s like ok, you know this is going to suck for a little bit, just get through it.

  12. ugh I totally get you since jeri = headcase runner. They’re fine once you get going, but geez louise you’d think it would kill me with the way I dawdle with even STARTING a tough workout, let alone the next interval in a speed workout. Pretty bangin’ 800 splits you got yourself there…. that 5k is in for a rude awakening…

  13. i make all those excuses for my recovery times too. that’s why they are ALWAYS slower than they should be. because as soon as i see that line telling me to go fast again…well i pretty much hit slower-than-granny shuffle hahah!

    lucky you getting those guys to blast the music. i am never that lucky and more often than not have little kids playing on the playground…not that it stops my cussing!

  14. Nice workout! I can’t imagine how hard it would be do to that without a team. I do all of my intervals with a group because external motivation is the only thing that gets me out of my recovery nest 🙂

  15. I seriously think your workout just nudged me out of my own nest. Great times! Love your brew reviews.

  16. I’m usually good about my recovery in speedwork, but sometimes there are necessary bathroom breaks in there that give me several extra minutes of rest. Speaking of bathroom breaks, I trespassed at a university today too!

  17. I can totally relate to this post (and I really love your bird picture). Whenever I attempt speedwork, the first interval is fine. But then I start talking myself out of doing more as soon as it’s over because it’s HARD. I wish I had a momma bird to nudge/kick me in the ass and just keep me going. Getting better at this is probably my #1 goal once I’m 100% again! Nice running!!

Leave a Reply

