A little Friday fluff

Well, folks, the weekend is upon us and tsunamis are coming and people are dying.  Major bummer.

I skipped posting last night because I was too busy digesting a massive BBQ bacon cheeseburger, fries, and half a pitcher of beer.  (Like a python!)  I thought about writing about how delicious it was, but then it occurred to me that I’d only need one word: DUH.  So that would’ve been a short post.

Which brings us to today, in which I’ll once again skirt around talking about something substantive or important.  Earlier this week, Heidi tagged me with this Stylish Blogger meme that’s been going around.  Thanks, Heidi!  I’m supposed to share seven things about myself.  I know you can’t wait.

1. Don’t pull my finger.  Like, seriously, don’t.  I have an irrational dislike for this.  Toes, too.  I can’t really explain it, but it’s like I’m afraid the joints are going to disconnect and I’ll be left with a floppy digit.  Massages make me slightly anxious, even after telling the therapist “NO TOE PULLING!”

2. Cartwheels are for…carts. I can’t do one.  Never could, probably never will.  If you want to see me fall on my ass repeatedly, challenge me to a cartwheel contest – preferably after I’ve had a couple of beers.

3. I was too cool for school. High school, and I mean it literally.  My junior year, I was accepted in to a program that allowed high school students to take most of their classes at the local community college.  The program was designed for kids who wanted to simultaneously get their associates degree while finishing high school, then transfer to a state university and finish the remaining two years there, thus shaving off two years of tuition.

But I had absolutely no intention of doing that.  I just saw it as a way to escape the vapidity of eleventh and twelfth grade, while simultaneously strong-arming my parents in to buying me the car I’d need for all of this to work.  And also, clearing my schedule of things like mandatory class attendance so I’d have more time for watching The Price is Right.

(Not that I ever did that, mom and dad.  Er…most of the time.)

4. But my school was pretty cool.  Definitely cooler than yours.  Because: did you go to high school in a castle?  I didn’t think so.

[source]

You may recognize my alma mater from Ten Things I Hate About You. (And if not, it’s probably on TBS right now if you want to go watch.)

(And for what it’s worth, the stairs were a total bitch.  Castles don’t have elevators.)

5. This lush won’t drink dirty.  Sorry, but olives are vile.  Every time the hubs orders an extra-dirty martini and I happen to smell it, I gag a little.  I really wish I liked martinis because I think they’re classy, but unfortunately if I’m getting a cocktail, I’m the dumb girl with the pink cosmo or whatever.

6. Microwaves go against everything I stand for.  Okay, not really, but I was hanging out with my sister-in-law a couple of weeks ago and she made this claim.

Me: That meat looks great, but how are we going to defrost it?

SIL: Um, in the microwave?  Unless that goes against everything that you stand for.

I thought it was hilarious and plan to make it a cornerstone of my personal philosophy on life.

(And actually, I do tend to avoid the microwave for some stuff.  I feel like it makes my food weirdly soggy, and until recently I didn’t own one, so I sort of just don’t think to use it most of the time.)

7. I can pick my nose with my tongue. See?

Is it a scratch, or a pick?  Hmmm.

With that, I’m out.  I think I’m supposed to tag some people, but seeing as that it my least favorite part of memes (has this person been tagged yet?  haven’t they?  would they want to do this?  or would they think I’m an ass for tagging them?) and I’m already running late for work, I’m going to skip it.  But feel free to share some random crap about yourself in the comments!  I love reading about other people’s random crap.

See you tomorrow with yet another 5K race report!

(And seriously, that earthquake thing sucks ass.  Thoughts, prayers, hugs, twizzlers, etc going out to the Pacific Rim and those affected by the situation.)

15 responses to “A little Friday fluff

  1. I had a friend in college that did Running Start too. I was a tiny bit jealous because she came to college totally knowing what she was doing where I had to flail around for a semester before I had any semblance of study habits. Also, I desperately wanted to skip out on the last two years of high school but alas Montana does not poses such a great program. I got nothin as far as random crap I want to divulge besides the fact that I knew a girl in college that also went to the same high school as you!

  2. I thought that place looked familiar! Where did you go to school?

    Good luck on your 5k! Hopefully your weather is better than the crap we’re getting up here. 🙂

  3. lifeisbeachykeen

    Wow, that is quite the school! My school was boring. Florida schools are stupid. Everything is outside, so if it rains, we get wet. So dumb.

    I dislike defrosting meat in the microwave too, but in a pinch, I’ll do it. It skeeves me out that’s it’s kind of cooking while it’s in there. ew.

    Good Luck at your 5k tomorrow!

  4. I don’t like using the microwave to defrost stuff, unless I forgot to pull it out of the freezer and need it NOW.

    Until I heard the news today I was pumped for my Friday, now I feel a little guilty about that. Hopefully every is okay…but how does a person say that when so many people are already dead?! Sad day…

  5. i didn’t go to school for smarties in a castle, but my high school was pretty effin’ cool too! bunch of super liberal hippie teachers who taught us based off of the whitemenareevil curriculum. they were all white. 60% of students were white. it was funny/ educational. i’d say more funny than anything.

    i too can pick my nose with my tongue! let’s be gross TOGETHER!!

  6. I channelled the inner 16-year-old girl when you said 10 Things I Hate About You was filmed at your school. She was screaming “omg, Heath Ledger was totally walking the hallways where you walked… omg omg…”

    Yeah that happened. And I’m not embarrassed.

  7. So random, but my friends and I were just watching that and commenting about the castle, asking “do people actually go there? who goes to school in a castle?” I’m kind of jealous.

    Our school was a hallway. Literally. One story. One hall. Gymatorium on one side, caf. on the other. Flat roof that was blown off in a nasty thunderstorm. At least we got an extra week off for Easter…

  8. Omg, I totally recognize that school! That is awesome! That is a cool sounding program, too. What a great way to get an education, save money, beg for a car and get bonus free time during the day…. 🙂

  9. wayyyyyyyyyyyy cool about your high school. i’d rather live in a castle though 😉

  10. Isn’t that school in Washington? I thought Ten Things I Hate About You was filmed there…Good movie.

    It was completely bizarre to hear that Oregon has a tsunami warning. So far it’s not a big deal. Crossing fingers that’s the same story everywhere else.

  11. I’ve never done a cartwheel ever either. I maintain that feet belong well below the head at all times.

    That is NOT what she said, but it is definitely what I say.

  12. No way! I met a guy in college that went to that high school too!

  13. Wow, I recognized the school, too! I remember watching that movie while I was in high school and thinking, “Ugh, I hate this kind of high school movie. Does everyone in California go to school in a castle?”

    I looked into programs like the one you did, where kids skip the last part of high school and just go to college. In the end I went to an arts boarding school for 11th and 12th grade, which worked better for me.

  14. A castle! Look at you. My high school was on a street called Odd Road. I think that says it all.

  15. Memes are fun, aren’t they? I also went to a school that looked like a castle! It was a ghetto castle, but castle-like nonetheless, and a national heritage site/monument/whatever with plaques and us not allowed to step on the grass. Oh, Lafayette… Our stairs also sucked.

    I also DIDN’T go to school in second grade because we moved to Spain and the school I was assigned to had boys carrying knives at the tender age of eight. So my mom “homeschooled” me (or gave me lots of books to read) until we moved to back to the US… and then when we didn’t, she made me cram all kinds of long division and Spanish history so I could get into a good Catholic nun school. Learning long division from my mom at 11 pm at night is one of the low points of my life.

Leave a Reply

