The perils of proper hydration

You know what really chaps my bladder?

Dear Department of Transportation:

If that McDonald’s is in the next time zone over, please don’t attribute it to this upcoming exit.

Sincerely,

Over-hydrated road-tripping runners everywhere

**********

I’ll be back with a Shamrock Half race recap tonight, but here’s a sneak peek – I broke 1:40 with a couple of minutes to spare.  Whee!

Happy Monday, kids!

16 responses to “The perils of proper hydration

  1. Hurry up and post a race recap. I broke 1:40 too so I can’t wait to hear, er, read all about your race!!!

  2. I totally can relate to this post! I hate it when that happens!!

    Can’t wait to hear about the race!

  3. Way to go on the race. If everything is that far away, I might have been tempted to find a tissue box and some shrubbery.

  4. That happened to me once. A subway and mcdonalds was listed. I really wanted subway. I passed the McDonald’s after a half mile and seriously went another 10 before I found the subway. I would have thought it had been missed completely, but there was absolute nothingness surrounding me. Tack on an extra half hour of travel time for that “oops”.

  5. Ugh that is the worst, I hate when stupid road signs do that. Can’t wait to read your recap!

  6. lifeisbeachykeen

    Oh my gosh, this has me dying laughing at my desk. Thanks so much, the patients probably think I’m insane.

    I’m very patiently waiting to read your recap!

  7. congrats! can’t wait to read the recap.

    signs in new england are just awful and sooooooooooo misleading. maybe that’s why i hate driving so much hah!

  8. Oh yes, we have all been there 🙂 (at the 29 miles to Mcdonald’s road sign, that is.)

    Congratulations on your speedy half marathon! Can’t wait to read all about it.

  9. Not having an access to a bathroom is the biggest problem with hydration. I teach, and we have 90 minute blocks. I know one of these days, I’m just not going to make it. 🙂

  10. And this is why I firmly believe that dehydration is the healthiest choice for all.

  11. My favorite part is trying to find the highway after the pit stop. Although once it was worthwhile getting lost, when we ended up on a street called Big Beaver Boulevard.

  12. Ugh, those signs are the worst.

    Sub 1:40??? Sweeeeeeet! Congrats!

  13. And that’s how I peed my pants once, 80 meters away from a McDonald’s in Cortland.

  14. Can’t wait to hear a recap!! That’s an amazing time!! 🙂

  15. Haha! Hilarious! This happens more often then I care to admit…it was horrible on a long drive across the super populated and exciting state of Nebraska! I’m bored, so I drink a ton of water, then I can’t find a freaking bathroom! Oiy!

Leave a Reply

