Ah-CHOO!

I think I’d prefer to have snow on my car, actually.

Spring is in the air.  And all over every horizontal outdoor surface.

Being new to North Carolina, I wasn’t sure what to expect out of allergy season.  Growing up in the Pacific Northwest, where so many things are evergreen, I never had much in the way of spring allergies.  In arid Los Angeles, the smog messed with my lungs, but that was a year-round thing.  It wasn’t until I moved to Ohio in my mid-twenties that I discovered what people meant when they said that spring was in bloom.

Subsequent years in Boston and New York weren’t nearly as bad.  I don’t know if it was being surrounded by concrete or being close to the sea or what, but I began to believe that I’d just been allergic to Ohio.

Wrong.

Scratchy throat.  Itchy red eyes.  Constant sneezing and snuffling.  I’ve been walking around looking like a miserable stoner for the last week.

I’ve got me some Zyrtec now.  It’s helping a little, but I still look and sound like I just watched The Notebook.  Kind of embarrassing.

Please, flora of North Carolina, hurry up and finish your annual sex games.  I’m dying over here.

Today’s EAT: A classic Big Ass Salad.  It was exactly this sort of salad that originally got me interested in salads, actually.

Spinach, mixed greens, roasted chicken, strawberries, goat cheese and candied pecans.  Unbeatable, really.  I could eat this for dinner every night.

(Hmm, I guess technically I could eat this for dinner every night.  Perhaps I should.)

Today’s DRINK: I popped open a chilly bottle of Frenzy Sauvignon Blanc.  (Hey, it doesn’t say anything on that Zyrtec package about not mixing it with booze!)

I’m not sure from whence the name comes, because there is not anything particularly frenzied about this wine.  Perhaps these New Zealand winemakers just needed a word that contained an adjacent N and Z?  (Noting that one for scrabble.  Also, has an F.  Even better.)

Anyway.  It was a fun little wine – tons of fruit, green apples, pineapple, a hint of lemon.  For the price ($9), I’d certainly buy it again.  It would be a great wine for sipping at an afternoon barbecue on a hot summer day.

Today’s RUN: Monday ended up being one of those unintentional rest days.  Oops.  I totally listened to my body and failed to get off the couch.  Stupid lazy body.

Here’s how last week ended up.  Mellow as hell.  I’m blaming the allergies as well as post-half-marathon blahsies for this:

M – OFF (post-race)
Tu – OFF (post-race)
W – 5 easy (45:50, 9:10 pace)
Th – 6.4 easy (57:43, 9:01 pace)
F – 3.7 easy (31:22, 8:28 pace)
Sa – 4.5 easy (38:49, 8:37 pace) + weights
Su – 8.1 easy (w/hubs, 1:22, 10:07 pace)

Total: 27.7 miles.  Aaaaaaaaaand that was a fun rest week.  Time to get back out there!  Obviously I’m not exactly off to a great start.

Today’s QUESTION: Anyone else suffering from Revenge of the Pollen?  How do you deal with it?

42 responses to “Ah-CHOO!

  1. lifeisbeachykeen

    Thankfully I do not have any allergry trouble, not sure how I missed out on that one since ALL of my sisters have allergies. I believe they all take zyrtec, or claritin..or get allergy shots (ew). Welcome to the South?
    Oh, and congrats on listening to your body. (bahahaha). I listened to mine yesteday and ate icecream. yum!

  2. I am allergic to Kansas City. My asthma and allergies have been a nightmare since we moved here, and my boss informed me it took her body 5 years to acclimate. Ugh.

  3. I live in Oregon and I’m allergic to pine trees. Friggin pine trees are EVERYWHERE.
    I hate nature.

    The longer I live here the better it gets though so maybe eventually yours will go away?

    • True. I’ve been moving around way too much these last few years to let my body adapt to ANYTHING.

      I think pine trees are one thing that I am NOT allergic to and I’m jealous of your Oregon forests! 🙂

  4. Killer looking salad!

    I have seasonal allergies. I’ve been in the NW my whole life. I’m not sure what I’m allergic to. I wasn’t willing to go through the hundreds of needles to get tested since there was no cure beyond what I already do (claratin). But I think it’s pollen and mold.

  5. We’re covered in pollen down here in South Carolina, too. Luckily I’m not allergic to it, so I get to point and laugh at all those who suffer from the wayward plant ejaculate.

    I grew up in Oregon and wasn’t allergic to anything there either. Totally high-fiving my immune system right now.

    I think I’m going to look for Frenzy after reading this; I’m usually more of a red wine gal but I do occasionally enjoy the drinkability of a crisp sauvignon blanc. O hai, Kroger wine department.

  6. I’m allergic usually to tree pollen…which means I am SOL here in Seattle. I don’t get red, itchy eyes though – I just get TIRED! Like, I sleep for 11+ hours and still be exhausted. BLEh.

  7. Argh, my asthma was so bad last spring it put me in the hospital (and I haven’t had any asthma symptoms in 10 years). I’m playing it safe this year and retreating to my lair (home gym) for the next 2-3 months.

    The pollen is crazy down here. I feel your pain.

  8. I battle allergies year round unfortunately. They’re worse this time of year. I’m on a Rx for allergy meds(one pill, one nasal spray) once daily and add in an extra benadryl if needed. Which I did in NC last week.

  9. I was allergic to Boston the summer I lived there and was asked whether I was high fairly regularly. A co-worker tipped me off to Tylenol (the regular stuff, not the allergy stuff) plus Chlor Trimeton. Nothing has ever worked better.

  10. um, it was 27 degrees in NYC this morning. as soon as it gets above freezeing i will report on the pollen situation 🙂

  11. I seem to be developing a bit of allergy trouble as I get older, but not as bad as what you describe. Hope that Zyrtec helps and the season is over quick!

    That salad is a classic and unbeatable combo – delicious!

  12. A couple of my friends literally go into hiding in the spring. This is why…
    Booze and allergy medicine are the best. If it doesn’t work the first time, try pouring another glass…

  13. I have nothing constructve to add other than: It is actually quite thrilling to see an NZ product on blogs. You really don’t see it often! You are a good NZ booze consumer, I’ve seen it at least 4 times on here.

  14. I take allergy medicine every. single. day. I’m pretty much miserable without it and inevitably laid up with too many sinus infections.

    Sauvignon Blanc is my favorite kind of wine. It started as a summer thing but now I’m happy to drink it all year round!

  15. The pollen in Atlanta was pretty nasty last year. I remember a few ridiculously high pollen counts and “watch-out-for-yer-health” alerts. I don’t seem to be allergic, but it did make my chest absolutely ache on some runs.

    I think the most exciting thing about it all was that my car temporarily looked green from all the yellow pollen on it. (it’s usually light blue. Not very badass.)

  16. I used to think allergies were something whiny people just made up (kinda like “migraines”) so they could be lazy.

    They finally hit me somewhere in my mid-20’s. Karma sucks.

  17. Hey!

    I don’t normally comment on your blog (though I do love it!) but I had some suggestions:

    1) Local honey. I’ve heard that eating the stuff every day helps to alleviate allergies.

    2) Hookworm. I kid you not, people infect themselves with the parasite to get rid of allergies: http://abcnews.go.com/m/story?id=8114307

    Mmmmmm!

  18. You can check pollen.com every day to see how bad it’s gonna be. I’ve been suffering horribly, as usual. Zyrtec in the morning, steroid nasal spray right after breakfast, and an inhaler before runs. And I still feel the need for a sugeon’s mask and my Gram’s oxygen tank. And the fun is only just beginning.

    Clearly I have no advice; but this post was fantastic. Glad I’m not alone!

  19. my eyes are GLUED SHUT bc of allergies. ugh. i’ve been taking drugs (and sadly the non-drowsy / kind that make you loopy) but with no goodness. i think i’ll just have to show up to work with the drowsy kind. at least it’ll make the day pass faster? maybe?

  20. Oh yeah, I too suffer from allergies (year-round). But according to the allergist and the tests, I’m not allergic to anything. wtf?
    I take OTC Claritin every night and use eye drops as needed. I occasionally use the neti pot too. It works. 🙂
    I’ve heard local honey helps, but I can’t stand the stuff so I will never know for sure.

  21. You should not move to Houston. My car is covered in that crap. Thank goodness I’m not allergic.
    I “listened to my body” on Sunday, but should have listened to it Saturday night when it told me I didn’t need shots.

  22. don’t hate me but i think i’m the only one who is NOT allergic to the thick blanket of pollen that does rain upon NC every spring [umm – it hasn’t even gotten to the worst point yet, i don’t think although maybe this cold snap will help stop it]. i love my clueless immune system for that!!

    • Yeah, I have to admit I’m slightly thankful that it’s pouring rain today. Maybe it’ll wash some of the pollen away? A silver lining to these yucky rain clouds (for me anyway)!

  23. That is the best kind of salad. I want one now.

    Last year my allergies were the worst they’ve ever been. it was brutal. I went and bought bee pollen from this place by my house, and it worked wonders. It tastes like butt, but its so worth it.

  24. Get a netti pot! I swear it cured my allergies that Ive had my whole life. Use it 2x a day for a few weeks and it will change your life

    • Those are the thingymadoos that look like a genie should come out of them, right? 🙂 I’ve seen them but never tried one. Thanks for the tip!

  25. Haha! And Ohio is nothing compared to Tulsa! I didn’t even know what allergies were til I thought I was DYING come April in Oklahoma. Tooo many farms!!! 🙂 Kidding, of course, but it was torture until the drugs got on board! Your online art photos crack me up every time!

  26. Umm. Ive live in SC my whole life and my allergies have most certainly not improved over time. I wouldn’t count on “acclimating”! I do know that you can’t OD on anti-histamines. I’ve tried. My allergist actually told me to take an Allegra in the AM, claritin in the afternoon, and zyrtec at night… On top of that I have the sleepy-ones too but I forget what they’re called.

    Don’t eat the yellow snow.

  27. Seattle has started it’s annual assault on my sinuses early this year. I haven’t actually smelled anything in weeks. I might very well be the smelly kid right now and I’d have no idea.

    I generally do a loretadine, pseudophedrine, whatever else I can get my hands on cocktail and feel a little better.

  28. Haha. Unrelated question…just how long do your drawings take you to create? I love them.

    • Not too long! I try to keep it pretty simple. Once in a while I’ll get a vision of something I want to draw and start in on it….if it’s not coming together in 10-15 minutes, I ditch it and move on to something simpler. (This post took me about an hour and a half in total – drawing, writing and editing.) There’s a reason my characters are usually in a zero-depth-of-field, two-dimensional plane, facing forward. 🙂

  29. I feel the pollen a bit, but at this rate we won’t have any pollen in the air until June…damn snow!

  30. I feel your pain… all year long, ugh. I have all kinds of pollen allergies, and since different wacky things are constantly blooming in Trinidad (why hello, tropical one-season climate!) I am plagued all year long. The worst part is allergic conjunctivitis (all the goo of pinkeye, none of the relief of antibiotics). I keep it under control with twice-daily Zyrtec, Patanol eye drops, and Nasonex–in other words, my blood is 100% chemical. It mostly does the job except for the occasional transition between dry and wet weather, and then all bets are off and my doctor gives me a mini-course of steroids.

Leave a Reply

