I died and went to heaven

…and it looked exactly like Charlottesville’s Beer Run.

I was rather thirsty yesterday afternoon.  And evening.

Cracking a Starr Hill Jomo Lager at 11:30 AM.  The beginning of the end.

This made for a lovely drive back to Raleigh this morning and a long day of work today.  I.  Am.  Exhausted.

However, it was completely worth it.  The Charlottesville Half was a success!  Official finish time: 2:14:45.  Walking: zero.  I am so very proud of the hubzzz.

How in hell’s blazes do people take pictures of themselves while racing?  I wasn’t even running hard and this was the best I could do.

Anyway.  The hubs says thank you to all of you who wished him well.  I don’t know if he would go so far as to say he had fun, but I think it wasn’t as bad as he thought it would be.  And the course was beautiful and we had excellent company.  (Our friends Matt and Gesina ran as well – it was Matt’s first half marathon too!)

Well, before I go pass out, let’s see whose derriere is gonna be nice and slippery:

I do believe that means the winner of the 2TOMS Butt Shield Giveaway is Heidi!  Congrats!  Email me (eatdrinkrun at gmail dot com) so I can get your info.

Alright, I’m going to go eat some pizza and then face-plant in to my bed.  Hope you all had a great weekends too!

24 responses to “I died and went to heaven

  1. I always wonder how people take photos while running too…I think they must stop while snapping the pic.

    Congrats to the husband!

  2. That picture is FAN-tastic. The husband has crazy eyes. I’d give you crazy eyes if you tried to take a self-portrait during a race, too. I agree that people must stop and pose for non-blurry race photos, which frankly, is the biggest waste of an entry fee I can think of.

  3. Congrats to the husband!!!!

    I’ve never taken photos on the course…I feel like a fool! But I WILL be taking photos of my next “adventure” race, no one will believe me if I don’t!

    And lastly…YAH ME! I’m a little bit too excited for my fanny lube! 😉

  4. great pic and great race hubs!

    and i take terrible pictures of myself while stationary. so you get major brownie points (or maybe earned those beers) but taking one. cheers 🙂

  5. Glad he made it through!! A first 1/2 is definitely a big milestone. Congrats to him, and very nice running self portrait you took too.
    The post-race beer looks fabulous too. 🙂

  6. Congrats to your husband! That’s a great first half!

    And I think I would die (and drool) in a place like that in Charlottesville. 🙂

  7. Congrats to your hubster!

  8. I’d be so worried that I’d drop my camera. I’ve dropped it enough just standing still. Congrats to the hubs.

  9. congrats to the hubz!! He kind of looks pissed in the photo – what mile was that taken? If I even attempted to take a pic of myself while running I would probably just get a close up of my nostrils or something totally ridiculous like that

  10. cuuuute picture. awesome race, hubs! glad it was a fun time for both runner and spectator! 🙂

  11. Congrats to hubs! That’s awesome. Your post on “returning a million little favors” made me tear up a little 🙂

  12. I know where that pic was! Probably right after I screamed at you, which is the cause of le wild eyes. Sorry we did not beer up in person but it was fun to see you in 3d if only for a second. Cheers.

  13. Haha. Love the picture! WTG edr hubs. I really love your friend Gesina’s name. I’ve never seen it before.

  14. lolz to taking photos while racing. it’s a good thing the hubs had you to document his first half-marathon experience!

  15. This is what I picture heaven to be like, too. I think I even see some of my favorite beers in that pic.

    Congrats to the hubz! And you for being such a rock star wife.

  16. I love taking pictures, but can’t justify bringing along my camera with me on a run or a race I actually paid for. I already grumble about taking along water and gels/chews for long runs. If there was something I really needed to photograph, I could always go back and take a picture. And really, do I need a picture of me when I’m all sweaty and salty? Not really.

    Glad you and your husband had a great race.

  17. Congrats to the hubs! Has he already signed up for his next one?

  18. That is seriously the best running picture I’ve ever seen. Haha, I love it. Congrats to your husband!

Leave a Reply

