Sunday Funday, Holiday Edition

Weird confession: sometimes I regret choosing the name of this blog.  Because: look how many other blogs have some combination of EAT [WHATEVER] RUN in the name!  When I started blogging, I honestly had no clue about this.  (And had definitely never heard of Eat Pray Love.  Ugh.)

No, I just thought I was being really clever.

Yeah, along with about a zillion other people.

Anyway, sometimes I regret it – and sometimes I don’t, because lack of originality aside, it just fits me perfectly.

Like yesterday, which was truly an eat, drink and run kind of day:

9:00 AM: Wake up.  See sun streaming in through window.  Check weather app on phone and decide that running needs to happen sooner rather than later.  Because as much as I love a good Sunday afternoon cookout, I don’t want to be the meat.

10:30 AM: Finally hit the greenway, husband in tow.  It’s his long run for the week.  7.5 ridiculously sweaty miles.  It’s 85* and 85% humidity by the time we finish.

Mmm, salt.

Noon: Back home.  Ponder measly weekly mileage and lack of speedwork and decide to hit the treadmill for a mini tempo run before hitting the shower.

12:45 PM: Shower, clean apartment, fold laundry.  Bleh.

2:00 PM: Time for mimosas!

(With hand-squeezed orange juice….because, uh, I forgot to buy orange juice.  Comments the hubs: “So really this is just champagne with a splash of orange juice.”  Right-o.)

3:00 PM: Breakfast time!

I love that strawberries are starting to come in to season here!  Also, I love 3 PM breakfasts.

5:00 PM: Emerge from bacon-and-champagne coma and decide to go for a walk around the neighborhood.  Gather beverages for the road and transfer them to disposable coffee cups.  Discretion!

My cup of Triangle Brewing Company White Ale actually did look like a latte, with its foamy head.

This beer was okay.  A little too sour and puckery.  Although perhaps I should give it another chance.  Maybe at a time when I haven’t recently overloaded my taste buds with maple syrup and sweet champagne.

7:00 PM: Dinner discussions.  The hubs says that he wants fried chicken.  That sounds like crazy talk to me.  I want something lighter.  I leave him to acquire his own chicken and make myself a nice panzanella salad instead:

Recipe: Panzanella with Balsamic Syrup.

8:30 PM: Asleep on the couch.  The mark of an excellent Funday.

Eating, drinking and running.  I can’t think of a better way to spend the day.  And while it make for an overplayed blog title, it’s how I roll.

Hope you all had a great holiday weekend, too!

17 responses to “Sunday Funday, Holiday Edition

  1. Aren’t all mimosas made with just a splash of OJ? I add vodka to mine also, gives them a nice kick.

  2. A hint of tequila is a nice touch too 🙂

  3. I’ve never had a mimosa. I’m not fancy enough.

  4. haha, I love that you took your drinks with you on the road for your walk. Because I’m a lightweight, my mimosas are usually orange juice with a splash of champagne. Sigh…

  5. Looks like a perfect Sunday to me! I also make my mimosas with a “splash of OJ” (even when I have a full carton). Yesterday I made some for Easter and we had a “splash” of mango juice which was a delicious change!

  6. Can I FedEx my boyfriend to your husband for a training session? I would love for him to start running with me. He loves cooking and drinking (especially drinking) so he’s up to speed on that part, even on par with smuggling booze in non-descript containers and suggesting fried chicken when he knows I won’t touch it. Will include return postage.

  7. this sounds like my kind of day (except i’ll take a yoga class over the running since my body hates me). twinsies, obvi.

  8. Ah, road sodas. You are my kinda girl, Shelby. 🙂

  9. Oh my goodness that sounds like the most perfect day in the history of days. I wonder if it’s too late to recreate that day right now…

  10. Bahahahaha, I love that you threw some beer in coffee cups. I don’t know if you watch ‘It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia’, but in an episode they pour wine into pepsi cans to make it acceptable to drink at all hours of the day.

  11. So coffee cups are the paper bags of 2011?

  12. I’m going to hesitantly agree — that it is a bit of a bummer that your blog name became somewhat generic after EVERYBODY copied you — but it would be more of a bummer if you hadn’t already found such a strong audience. You’re memorable now because of your content, so your name follows as memorable.

    Similarly, I thought roserunner was clever because it sounds like “roadrunner”. and my middle name is rose. it turns out everyyyyone’s blog is named _____runner. Enter any noun or adjective in the blank and it exists.

  13. Yea….I have about 6 eat/run/food/read/book/run/etc blogs in my reader! So I definitely know you as Shelby rather than “the Eat, Drink, Run chick”.

    And you get all kinds of brownie points for actually squeezing oranges – I’d just give up and drink plain old champagne!

  14. Pingback: Le Cinq de Mai | eat, drink, run

Leave a Reply

