Mah grill

Last night, I did something I hadn’t done since ohhh…2007?

I cooked some food over a gas-fueled flame in a metal box.  Outdoors.

This may seem rather pedestrian to most of you, but for this perpetual urban-apartment-dweller?  It was amazing.

It’s too bad that our building forbids grills on balconies.  (Or maybe that’s the fire department.  Whatever.)  For now, though, I’ll happily share the gas grill in the courtyard with the other residents of this fine flammable structure.

It was a little bit of a pain to haul chicken, vegetables and corn down the elevator, but totally worth it for a flame-grilled meal.  There is just no way to replicate that delicious char indoors.

(Also, that is rhubarb in the veggies.  No, it doesn’t really belong there.  I just got excited about it when I saw it at the store and thought I’d be all creative and stuff.  Didn’t really add anything.  Next time, I’m making a pie!)

Anyway, this was a rather uneventful Monday around here.  I woke up this morning feeling rather geriatric with a sore back.

I actually first felt it during my run yesterday, but I assumed it was just a side-stitch sort of thing.  But nope, woke up this morning and it was back.  I am not an ambiturner!  I can’t turn left!

Took an unplanned rest day from running today, but I’m really not thrilled with this back-stabbing up in my grill.  I hope it goes away soon.

Also: I realized I never set an end date for the Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day contest.  Um, oops.  I guess that’s what happens when you blog over a dinner of wine and fresh baked bread.  So, I’m declaring now that it ends tomorrow night, Tuesday 5/3, at midnight.  So go enter if you haven’t already!

12 responses to “Mah grill

  1. That looks freaking delicious! I am a firm believer that all food (except maybe cookies) are much tastier on the grill 🙂

  2. I love grill cooking! We weren’t allowed to do that at our last apartment, but we had a small propane grill that we used on Memorial Day. Worth it! 🙂

  3. That looks so good! I love grilled corn. I used to have to do the same thing in my old apartment complex. It was weird sharing a grill, but you gotta do what you gotta do sometimes.
    Hope your back is feeling better. Maybe you just slept in a funky position?

  4. I’m drooling over the picture. Even when you have to hike to your grill you still get such a tasty dinner with minimal work.

    Rhubarb intimidates me. And can’t it kill you if you cook it wrong? lol
    I don’t remember where I heard that. Please do share when you decide to make that pie.

  5. Bwahhh! I am so jealous of your grilled corn (and grilling opportunity in general). I will have to settle for grilled food from a street vendor.

    Try some of those stick on heat patch thingies for your back – that’s my go-to move when mine acts up.

  6. That grilled pile of food looks SO amazing. 😀 I can’t wait until we get our grill going. I think I just need to pick up a new gas tank, and we’ll be set!

  7. Up hills both ways in the snow WITH hot potatoes in your pockets to keep you poor fingers warm, right?!

  8. haha thats awesome that you put rhubarb in your grilled veggies! I love rhubarb! I definitley need to dedicate an entire post to rhubarb! Thanks for the inspiration lol!

  9. I like the look of the sesame seeds on your meat, looks delicious! The whole dang thing looks really good.

Leave a Reply

